Website Language

Active date

The Premier League rule that will force ‘Big Six’ to leave English top-flight after joining European Super League

Mohamed Elneny of Arsenal celebrates with team mates Kieran Tierney and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang after scoring their side's third goal during the UEFA Europa League Round of 16 First Leg match between Olympiacos and Arsenal at Karaiskakis Stadium on March 11, 2021 in Piraeus, Greece. Sporting stadiums around Europe remain under strict restrictions due to the Coronavirus Pandemic as Government social distancing laws prohibit fans inside venues resulting in games being played behind closed doors.

Image source: Milos Bicanski/Getty Images

Manchester City, Manchester United, Liverpool, Chelsea, Tottenham and Arsenal will be forced to quit the Premier League if they play in the European Super League. A rule in the Premier League guidelines will stop them. Under rule L9, clubs are not allowed to play in any competitions other than those listed during the football season.

The full rule states: “Except with the prior written approval of the Board, during the Season a Club shall not enter or play its senior men’s first team in any competition other than:

“L.9.1 the UEFA Champions League, L.9.2 the UEFA Europa League, L.9.3. the FA Cup, L.9.4 the FA Community Shield, L.9.5. the Football League Cup or L.9.6 competitions sanctioned by the County Association of which it is a member.”

Premier League, as expected, is against the tournament.

Source: The Sun/ *Join us on Telegram!/ Follow us on Twitter!

Sir Alex Ferguson speaks out on European Super League plans