Website Language

Active date

Pep Guardiola adds eight players to Manchester City’s Champions League squad

Pep Guardiola adds 8 players to Manchester City's Champions League squad

Image source: Getty Images

Pep Guardiola has added eight players to Manchester City’s squad for the Champions League, with Phil Foden and Eric Garcia being included.

City initially named a 21-man ‘A List’ squad, with Foden and Garcia notable exceptions, as they qualified to be included on the ‘B List’. Their absence from the A List would, in theory, allow City to name more homegrown players up to the 25-man maximum, but the Blues are limited in that area so their squad size was capped.

No senior player was omitted, though, with new signings Ruben Dias, Nathan Ake and Ferran Torres included, plus goalkeeper Zack Steffen.

Now, Foden and Garcia have been confirmed as B List players, along with goalkeeper James Trafford, centre-back Taylor Harwood-Bellis, and midfielders Adrian Bernabe, Cole Palmer, Felix Nmecha, and Tommy Doyle.

Manchester City Champions League A List: Ederson, Steffen, Carson, Walker, Dias, Stones, Ake, Zinchenko, Laporte, Mendy, Cancelo, Gundogan, Rodri, De Bruyne, Bernardo, Torres, Fernandinho, Mahrez, Sterling, Jesus, Aguero.

B List: Trafford, Garcia, Harwood-Bellis, Foden, Doyle, Bernabe, Palmer, Nmecha.

Source- Manchester Evening News

Join us on Telegram

Pep Guardiola sends message to Liverpool star Virgil van Dijk