Former Premier League referee Mark Clattenburg says it was a right decision to give Napoli a penalty after Andrew Robertson’s tackle against Jose Callejon.
Scottish international fouled on Napoli captain 10 minutes before the stoppage time. German referee Felix Brych gave Italian side a penalty, which helped Carlo Ancelotti’s side beat Liverpool, as Fernando Llorente added the second in stoppage time.
Here is the verdict of Clattenburg: “Sorry Liverpool fans, but it was a penalty. Andrew Robertson committed to a tackle on Napoli’s Jose Callejon inside the area with his wrong foot and made no contact with the ball.”
“Once the tackle had been made, Robertson’s leg was in Callejon’s space and it made contact with the Napoli man’s thigh.
“After German referee Felix Brych had awarded the penalty, VAR immediately checked to see if there was contact.”