Written by

Alla Zakarian

13-06-2018 | 14:52 Football

REVEALED. FIFA World Cup 2026 host country

During the 68th FIFA Congress on 13 June at Moscow's Expocentre, FIFA decided the host country of World Cup 2026. USA, Mexico and Canada will host FIFA World Cup 2026. Two official bids have been made for the competition,  Morocco and  a joint bid between USA, Mexico and Canada. The 2026 World Cup will be the 23rd edition of the tournament and will be the first ever edition to include 48 teams. The draw for the 2026 World Cup will likely be made in December 2025 once the qualifying campaign is completed for all the confederations. The expansion of the World Cup to 48 teams will ensure that each continent is represented at the tournament, with each confederation getting an increase in the number of qualifying teams. This means that Oceania (OFC) will have one guaranteed place at the World Cup, having previously seen its best team forced to enter a play-off with another confederation to qualify.  

Related News


England, Premier League