Written by

Karine Grigoryan

14-05-2018 | 15:02 Football

5 Goalkeepers Who Have Won The Zamora Trophy Most Number of Times

5.Ricardo Zamora (3) Ricardo Zamora is the man after whom the trophy has been named. The Spanish keeper played for Catalonian clubs Espanyol and Barcelona while he also turned out for Real Madrid. He was known for his lightning-quick reflexes, shot-stopping ability and bravery during a time when goalkeepers hardly had any protection. His first won the trophy in 1929 for conceding the least number of goals as Espanyol went on to win the title.His other two came, when he was playing for Real Madrid.

4. Santiago Canizares (4)

Santiago Canizares began his career at Real Madrid playing for their C and B teams before spending one season with the main team. Making just 41 appearances across four seasons, the Spaniard moved to Valencia CF to replace the legendary Andoni Zubizaretta. In his time at the Mestalla, he helped the club win eight trophies while he himself won the Zamora Trophy four times.  

3. Juan Acuña (4)

​Juan Acuna played for Galician club Deportivo la Coruna. The Spanish goalkeeper was one of the best of his time but sadly there is a lack of stats to show exactly how good he was. Despite facing fitness issues and having an injury-prone career, apart from issues due to being overweight, the natural talent of the shot-stopper led to him winning the Zamora Trophy four times in the seasons 1941/42, 1942/43, 1949/50 and 1950/51.

2. Victor Valdes - (5)

​Valdes began his career at Barcelona's La Masia and was promoted into the first team in the 2003-04 season. The next season he started almost all of the club's games as the Catalonian side won the league for the first time in six years. A key of this winning team was the goalkeeper who kept the most clean sheets in the league. The Blaugrana won the league title on every occasion their Spanish goalkeeper won the Zamora Trophy except for one. The goalkeeper won the award in 2004/05, 2008/09, 2009/10, 2010/11 and 2011/12, showing just how important he was to the Catalan club.

1. Antoni Ramallets - (5)

Antoni Ramallets spent a vast majority of his playing career at FC Barcelona. Although he wasn't a starter immediately, he later established himself as a crucial member of the famous Barcelona side of the 50s and 60s. His first full season was the 1951/52 season and that was the season he won his first Zamora Trophy. He won a further four times in 1955/56, 1956/57, 1958/59, and 1959/60. The importance of his performances were determined by the fact that the club won the title on three of the five occasions that he won the award.  

Related News


England, Premier League