Website Language

Active date

Chris Sutton gives verdict on Felix Brych’s penalty decision

Chris Sutton says Jose Callejon dived to convince Felix Brych give Napoli a penalty against Liverpool.

Serie A side scored two late goals against current UCL winners. Dries Mertens hit the net from penalty, while Fernando Llorente added one in the stoppage time.

“Liverpool were unfortunate because Napoli were given a helping hand by referee Felix Brych, who awarded them that late penalty.” Sutton wrote on Daily Mail.

I’m sorry, but that was not a foul by Andrew Robertson. It was simulation by Jose Callejon. He dived to win the spot-kick, then VAR failed to overturn it.

It’s cheating. He’s already going to ground and initiated the contact. VAR should be getting these decisions right. Liverpool were hard done by.” he added.

Jurgen Klopp’s left frustrated after the match. German told BT Sports after the defeat: “What can I say? For me, it’s clear and obvious not a penalty because Callejon jumps before there’s any contact. But we can’t change that. We have to be critical with ourselves. We could have done better.”

Source – Daily Mail

Tammy Abraham sends a warning to Jurgen Klopp and Liverpool ahead of Liverpool match